RSS Feed

I’ve been trying to think up names for better versions of those movies like “I Heart New York,” and “Paris, Te J’aime,” where a whole bunch of lame filmmakers recount clichéd tales about these overly-romanticized places about which we should damn-well know by now that there is nothing interesting left to say. 

The only two I’ve been able to come up with so far are

 “My relationship with Atlanta is eerily similar to the one I have with my father, and I think I’m OK with that,” and

“Portland, I need you to shave.  Like, right fucking now — and don’t give me that hipster scowl.”   

See?  Aren’t you just a little bit more intrigued to hear the stories in these fine films than in a movie whose title include a heart symbol? 

You guys want to take a crack at it?  Prize for the top two titles will be this legal-enough herbal-ecstacy bullshit, which it turns out they sell in a strip mall off the highway to Beaverton.  God Bless America. 

You can play more than once.  You have until Sunday at midnight.  Best of Luck.

Happy New Year, too, now that I think about it.

11 responses »

  1. I’m not clever enough to come up with anything better than your Atlanta one. But have you ever seen Hiroshima, mon amour? It makes more sense if you visit Hiroshima, but at the same time, I think my visit to Hiroshima was better for having seen that movie. Or at least…fuck, I don’t know. But do you ever have moments in your life where something you’ve seen or heard or read clicks with with you’re experiencing now in some sort of strangely over-cohesive way? Like you thought you got it, but then you had this experience and now you really think you get it? It was kind of like that.

    I don’t know. So what I’m going to do is say never mind, but submit this comment anyway. The deliberate nature of the internet makes it hard to ramble sometimes.

    Reply
  2. but! paris! in the spring! there can be nothing like it and we need to describe this FOREVER.

    on that note:

    “Portland, I like you pretty okay but don’t read too much into this.”

    Reply
  3. Hey, I’ve seen that Hiroshima movie! It’s one of W’s favorites. It seemed very good, but I must confess that I didn’t quite get it. Now I am going to try to parlay it into a trip to Japan.

    Also, Ashley: AWESOME.

    And Andrew, where the deuce is Overshare, Part 2?

    Reply
  4. word on overshare part 2. curious minds need to know!
    also, we should hang this weekend?

    Reply
  5. they’re playing “both sides now” at the opening ceremonies!! i wish you could see this!

    also, i wish you were feeling better. let me know when is a good time to re-meet. take good care of yourself, buddy!

    Reply
  6. and joni mitchell sang it herself! i will find this on youtube for you!

    Reply
  7. A picture update would be totally sweet. I could do that. With words, eh, I don’t know. I don’t feel like I have much to say right now.

    Also, dude, TWILIGHT? Wtf?

    Reply
  8. HEY. UPDATE. NATCH.

    Me and Ash are flapping in the wind here!

    Reply
      • See? We are united.

        …Andrew?

        Hallloooooooo there! ANYBODY HOME!?!

        Please come back here! Your writing is so funny! I know you’re busy, but c’mon man! There’s no such thing as accountant confidentiality, right? So you can write awesome “look a this fucking financial bullshit” stories!

Leave a Reply

