RSS Feed

Before We Move On…

Some Post-Countdown Lose-End Tying:

It occurred to me round about song #6 that I really needed to be posting the names of songwriters for each of these.  It is, after all, a little silly to devote 90% of your post space to discussing why you like a particular lyric without ever giving credit to the person to whom you owe that lyric’s existence. 

But I didn’t want to shake things up halfway through, so I’m just going to make a list of songwriters for each one right now.  I’d add producers, too, but that information is a little bit harder to find.  Plus which I doubt y’all care all that much one way or the other.

“Soon” Casey Kelly, Regan

“Down to My Last Teardrop” Paul Davis

“It’s Your Call” Bruce Burch, Shawna Harrington-Burkhart, Liz Hengber

“How Can I Help You to Say Goodbye” Burton Banks Collins, Karen Taylor – Good

“Neon Moon” Ronnie Dunn (No Brooks, apparently).

“Who’s That Man?” Toby Keith

“Eight Crazy Hours in the Story of Love” Leslie Satcher, Darrell Scott

“Tell Me I Was Dreaming”* Travis Tritt, Bruce Ray Brown

“Love, Me” Skip Ewing, Max T. Barnes

“The Song Remembers When” Hugh Prestwood

“Wish I Didn’t Know Now” Toby Keith

“And Still” Liz Hengber (who is the only writer to make our list twice besides Toby Keith.  Congratulations, Liz!  Reba McEntire owes you a beer.), Tommy Lee James

“Is it Over Yet?” Billy Kirsch

“Twenty Years and Two Husbands Ago” Lee Ann Womack, Dean Dillon, Dodson

“The Dance” Tony Arata

You can see Tony Arata playing his own song here.  I don’t like it as much as the Garth Brooks version (again, his phrasing was just perfect), but it’s still cool to see the man who wrote those beautiful words singing them.  He also tells this little anecdote beforehand, and you can tell he’s probably the nicest person you’ll ever meet.  Which, I know, I shouldn’t care.  But it’s just a little bit easier for me to get out of bed every morning with the knowledge that the guy who wrote this isn’t an asshole.

Thank you guys for hanging on with me through this.  I know it got a little tedious when the song I picked wasn’t one you liked, but you guys just kept on commenting like champs.  So Ashley’s already told us what her #1 would be (a worthy choice, if I do say so myself).  What about the rest of you?

*I don’t know if you guys are emotionally ready to handle this yet, but apparently that abysmal video is not a lone, cocaine-inspired aberrance, but rather one abysmal third of an abysmal, cocaine-inspired Trilogy.  First person to watch the other two videos, and then summarize them for me so I don’t have to, wins a prize.

2 responses »

  1. NO. No thanks. I pass on more awful videos. I don’t need a prize!

    Speaking of videos, that “Dance” video, with Dr. King, JFK, and the Challenger crew, made me bawl. I’m still sad.

    Reply
  2. I’ve been considering watching the other two all day, but I’m still not over the first one. I can’t unlink that awful video and that song, and I like Anymore. So well see. Part of me is horribly curious. Part of me thinks I shouldn’t do that to myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

