RSS Feed

So close!

The fun part about hunting around for these videos to show you guys is that YouTube makes all of these suggestions for related videos.  90% of the time, they’re for crap I wouldn’t touch with a ten-foot pole.  But every once in a while, there’s something I forgot existed (What is UP, Clay Walker?), or (extremely rare) something I’ve never heard of that looks intriguing.

But so this one kept popping up on almost every video I’d watched, and I finally let my curiosity get the better of me.  I figured there was no way the song could be worthy of such an excellent title.  But the song’s about eight times more serious than you’d expect it to be, and beautiful to boot.  This doesn’t sound like a country song, but that’s not nearly as notable as the fact that it doesn’t sound like a song made in 2005.  The vibe is laid-back ’70s pop.   

The only thing I know Lee Ann Womack for is that sap-tastic “I Hope You Dance” song from a decade ago, so I was surprised to see that she does stuff like this (according to Wikipedia, most of the stuff she does is actually old-school, Dolly-Parton style stuff.  Rock on, Womack) .  She handles this incredibly well, too.  I would also not have expected the rather forceful singer of “I Hope You Dance” to be the appropriate person to do this song, but she sings it with the melancholic reserve it requires.   

Oh, and if I had to write a short essay on what Glamour means to me, I’m pretty sure I would just write down the URL for this video.  I’m living for those moments when she looks mournfully at the camera.

Twenty Years and Two Husbands Ago.

6 responses »

  1. My favorite song of hers is “I’ll Think of a Reason Later” as it is delightfully realistic. She has a really fantastic voice, though. And I’ve really enjoyed this project for the same reason: the related videos have brought back some pretty fantastic songs from my childhood. That and, you know, I’ve enjoyed the songs you’ve picked. And it’s fun to have stuff to read in the mornings.

    Reply
  2. Dude, you are such a whore for washed-up beauty queens. =P

    That said, it’s a pretty neat song. She doesn’t even look like the Womack of “I hope you FUCKING KILL ME NOW,” it’s remarkable.

    Reply
    • She’s not a washed-up beauty queen! She’s a mature, complicated woman dealing with the painful realities of time!

      Oh, and at least I’m not a whore for beauty queens who are “such a little punk!” Unlike SOME people I could name.

      Miss you. I’m watching that Rilo Kiley video for like the 8th time today. I think I’m becomming a little bit of a whore for Jenny Goddamn Lewis. Are we going to be drunk together on New Year’s Eve this year? I’m really hoping that that will be the case.

      Reply
  3. you’re such a tease! i have been wondering what number one will be ever since you started this thing!
    mine is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p41thd0IrFs&feature=related
    your project has been making me re-examine the songs of my childhood, so thank you.
    also, we should hang out again soon. i miss you!

    Reply
    • I really like that song, but if I had to rank my favorite sad songs off that album, it’s taking a back seat to “I am a Town” and “Rythym of the Blues”. I don’t know. It’s just such a good album, you know? Mary Chapin Carpenter is absolutely, positively, the best. I’m sad I didn’t get to include her on here, but again: the song had to be a hit, and all of her hits from this period weren’re really tear-jerkers. “He Thinks He’ll Keep Her,” is sad, I guess, but not in the same, visceral way that these ones are, you know?

      And I miss you too! Will you take pictures of Seattle on your way through?

      Reply
    • Also, that it is a really great performance of that song.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

