RSS Feed

We’re almost halfway through the Countdown, and I’m getting a bit worn down.  I haven’t been sleeping well for the past few weeks  (Does it feel like I make that excuse a lot?  I’m sure as hell getting tired of it.), work’s been nuts, and, thanks to a tragic combination of laziness and perfectionism, writing one of these posts takes me at least an hour each night.  Number seven’s going to be a fairly long-winded post, and I’ll need more energy than I have at present. 

So I’m taking the night off.  I’m going to lean on you guys a little to keep this interesting, though. 

I finally broke down the other day and bought Reba McEntire’s latest album.  Overall, I’m not that impressed (it largely conforms to all of the archetypes in  post-millenium country music that I hate, but that’s a post for another, well-rested day).   But here’s the one song off of it that I really think lives up to her earlier material.  What do you guys think?  

If you lack any strong opinions about the music, does her apparent face lift bother you at all?  On the one hand, I don’t want to be judgemental about stuff like that.  It’s not like I can’t empathize with the vanity, and I have this sneaking suspicion that, given the exposure and disposable income of a country star, I’d be unable to stop myself from dropping some serious cash on extensive electrolysis.   But she looks like a different person now, and the lack of continuity between the late-thirties McEntire of my childhood and the mid-fifties McEntire of the present is disconcerting and depressing.  Why can’t anyone just look  like they’re supposed to anymore?  Maybe I’m just being too selfish and entitled as a fan, holding her to standards that I probably couldn’t hold myself to.  What do you guys think?

3 responses »

  1. I like the song alright. It’s no “Somebody Should Leave,” and certainly no “Does He Love You?” but it’s okay. The face-lift thing makes me profoundly unhappy. I don’t begrudge anyone the medical enhancements available to them, but I do wish that people weren’t so goddamn horrified of changing. The part about face-lifts that really bothers me is imagining what they’ll look like in another 20 years.

    Reply
  2. I certainly think she’s allowed to get a face lift, but I’d like to think she could have afforded a surgeon that knew what he was doing. Face lifts should make you look 10 years younger, not 30. The idea is to look like you haven’t had any work done. She looks like she’s trying to be 24 again.

    I feel like that song is close, but it lacks any sort of memorable musical…anything. Lyrically I feel like it’s a unique perspective but the vocals are repetitive and feel kind of screechy. I guess my point is that it needs a better chorus.

    Can’t wait for number seven!

    Reply
    • I agree with you about the vocals. I didn’t really want to say that, though, because it’s pretty clear when you listen to the whole album that her voice has deteriorated some over the past decade or so. It’s still recognizably hers, but it lacks the nuance and range it once had (much like her face). So knocking the vocals seemed a little cruel. Thank you for doing my dirty work. I owe you one.

      And you hit the nail on the head with the face-lift thing, too. And the Brooks and Dunn thing,while we’re on the subject of things you’ve done well. I keep meaning to reply to that comment, but I keep getting bogged down by crazy school bullshit and writing my next entry. So for now, know that I appreciate your excellent comments.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

