RSS Feed

1. They’ve started providing us with company-branded hand sanitizer at work. Up until Friday, none of us had touched the stuff because we had name-brand sanitizer, and we assumed the company’s stuff would be low-quality, like most of the company-branded stuff with which we are provided.

However: we ran out of the name-brand stuff, and K’s got a cold she’s trying to keep from spreading, and she finally popped the cheap-ass bottle open and slathered some on. I figured I might as well try some, too.

And to my wonderment:

The sanitizer is indeed cheap-ass; it’s too sticky and leaves a residue on your hands. But its odor is oddly potent so that when you take a whiff (a hit, if you will), you suddenly get this great rush of alertness tempered by a gentle lightheaded feeling. It’s pretty swell.

This prompted K to tell me a story about this delightful industrial-strength pen she and her friends shared in college. When they were hungover, everyone would pass the pen around until they were lucid enough to take their exams. This made me marginally wistful for the college experience I’ll never have, until 2 seconds later I remembered that I have my own shower, and am sober about 95% of the time.

2. The Essential Dolly Parton! Bought it this weekend at Everyday Music, and the first of the two albums is much better than I would have expected. Up until the 80’s, she wrote most all her own stuff — which impressed me — and pretty much all of it is pretty nuanced and interesting. You get this sense of great humility from her, that she enjoys the fame her music has brought her, but at her core she’s doing this because it’s what she knows she’s good at, and the best way to achieve the prosperity she so sorely lacked in the first part of her life.

I think Whitney Houston’s great and all, but Parton’s version of I Will Always Love You is the definitive one for me. Houston’s sounds regal and entitled, which just isn’t the way that song should be done. Performing it on Hee Haw with a lone guitar in a sparkle-y jumpsuit under a mountain of blond tresses is the way that song should be done; the lack of class serves as a foil for the beauty of the song. That the owner of Dollywood wrote that song makes me happier than I can say.

I’m also addicted to this song:

3.The replacement for my stolen phone came in the mail yesterday. Now, of course, I have none of your phone numbers. My phone number is the same, so just text me your name and number, and I’ll add you to my phone book.

11 responses »

  1. it’s cool that they can keep your number the same.

    i feel the same way about dolly parton. i love that she loves the sparkles and the hair… did you hear she had to cancel a tour due to back problems? her response was something along the lines of “you try lugging these around”… so much love. she is not even trying to be cool, which makes her even cooler.

    Reply
  2. You know, Dolly is kind of great. I really wish I knew her music better…every time I see her perform at some awards show or hear one of her songs, I’m blown away at how good they are.

    Reply
  3. The thing is, GHP’s meals are free, but I wouldn’t be eating in Atlanta with the electrical job. Let me explain: we’d commute from Athens every evening, which would be my morning, so I’d basically live like I am now food-wise.

    We can’t leave the job to get food (at least for anything more than fast food, so I’d have a health bar in the morning (first break), a sandwich and carrots or something (“lunch” break), and then a frozen meal or something when I get back home, and probably something else small in between all of that.

    Right now I’m averaging $40 a week on food, so I think I could stick pretty well to that. I just have to be committed. I really appreciate your input, and I’m glad to hear you say the electrical job; I just e-mailed my bosses to tell them no, I won’t be returning this summer. I’m taking my chances for becoming a hot, burly electrician. 😉

    Reply
  4. P.S. My number is 770-722-0593

    Reply
  5. GodDAMN I love Dolly Parton. Every time I’m tempted to forget about her I hear some of her old songs. After clicking on your link I followed Dolly videos all over the place and came across an interview that she did on the BBC. I think that she is one of my all-time favorite people.

    Reply
  6. She was so beautiful when she was younger. Even now (she must be around 60, right?) she has an incredible amount of charisma. I love listening to her talk about her plastic surgery. It just tickles me to death.

    Reply
  7. 1. I have several playlists that I’m working on for you, but they’re all strange. This was more just an experiment. I should say something about the people on it, though.

    2. They were delicious and marbled. I ended up freezing them because it made a bunch and I only wanted a few, so I ended up having them again this morning. Yum.

    3. Mom gave me one before I left for school in August. Daniel has one too. They’re magic, these things. Non-stick and super easy to clean.

    4. It’s cold and rainy here. It’s kind of a downer.

    5. It wasn’t bad. I had a good time. You know how it goes.

    6. I’ve wanted to text you, but the screen on my phone goes out after I have the phone on for like 10 seconds, so it’s kind of a race to see who can accomplish things. I haven’t been able to accomplish a text to you, though, only setting an alarm. With the volume all the way up because I couldn’t see to set it. Also, I can more or less only call 1. people on speed dial and 2. people who’ve just called me.

    6.5. Phones suck.

    Reply
  8. Normally I’d text you something like this, but there is still no consistent screen on my phone. So here’s the question: does Kinko’s cut paper? I need these things I’m printing to be 3.5″ square. Is that possible? Expensive?

    Reply
  9. 1. 🙂 Have you seen this: http://youtube.com/watch?v=YvN7jZ34SAA

    2. I can fit six 3.5 inch squares on a standard sheet of paper, but from what you’ve told me it may be cheaper to print them two-to-a-sheet anyway. I’ll only need like 160-ish, I think. It’s for a project.

    Reply
  10. 1. It’s nice to have a personal printing consultant. That’s your new job title. Anyway, they’re just black and white. I’ll send it to you when I’m finished with it. Either way, the information on cutting is excellent news because, seriously, I didn’t want to cut them out myself. I suck at cutting things.

    2. I really wish it were real, too. I’d totally go see it in theatres.

    1 1/2. Actually, ok, the logistics of this cutting thing…should I make (guide)lines or do you think they’d figure it out? If I made lines could they cut it so you couldn’t see them? How much does it cost to print on cardstock?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

