RSS Feed

It occasionally bewilders me just how spatially oblivious I am these days. I tend to think of Portland as a large town with no geographical relationship to the rest of the continent.

Every once in a while, though, it will suddenly hit me that I live in Oregon, a state I was barely conscious of before moving out here, perched atop the most culturally and economically significant state in The Union — yet scores away from any of the cities that have earned it this title.

At this point the realization will come over me that I have lived about 98 or so percent of the past two years less than 90 miles from the Pacific Ocean, and about the same distance from the sort of Mountains whose existence I honestly find dubious.  How the fuck did that happen?

I can intellectualize that my orientation is on the West Coast, but I can’t really internalize it — not the way I could in North Georgia. I think this has a lot to do with my being largely distracted when I moved here, and my present lack of automobile.

These are the last pictures I’ll post for a while, I promise. I took these way back in October, when Fall was the greatest thing that had ever happened to me. Unfortunately, it got rainy right after I finished the roll, and Fall became the most compelling reason to never leave the apartment that had ever happened to me. So I didn’t get them developed until last weekend, when it started being nice again.

Anyway — Fall in Portland. Here we go.

Max Station

The MAX Station on my street.

N. Omaha

N. Omaha Avenue.

Tree!

Tree.

The Cliff

N. Willamette Blvd.

Slope I

The West Hills from my side of The River.

Slope II

The slope from N. Willamette down to The River.

That’s it for this week. No music cause YouTube’s down.

Oh, and Ms. McDaniel? You should call me sometime. I haven’t talked to you since Christmas.

6 responses »

  1. I love those pictures. I’m going to really miss Portland in the fall. It truly doesn’t get any better…except maybe in Vermont or something, and in Vermont you can’t truly appreciate the awesomeness of Fall because it’s not raining. And they have snow, so Fall probably just gets all mashed up with the rest of those picturesque seasons. But not in Portland. On our side of the Cascades, Fall is all you’ve got to go on until February.

    I love it here. Today was so gorgeous. W and Beau and I walked down to the Red&Black (which recently followed us from Division to 12th and Oak, how cool is that?) to get coffee and tea this afternoon, and the temperature was perfect and the sky was blue and we were in our neighborhood. Everything felt right.

    Reply
  2. And hey, yeah, Ma, you should call Andrew. And me sometimes.

    I can haz tax returnz?

    Reply
  3. Beautiful. How goes it? I made a new blog, you should check it out. http://iamcitizensane.blogspot.com.

    Reply
  4. Indeed. I’m really going to try to stick with this blog for good, but only time will tell. I’m also going to attempt to write at least a post a week.

    Reply
  5. so the fall is nice, but the spring is pretty awesome too. i know this for true.

    Reply
  6. so i tried to call you to let you know i got in, but the number i have for you takes me to someone not you. give me a call, buddy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

